Early Morning Bird Hunt

Still keen to catch a nice shot of a little egret after missing them the other morning, I headed down to the estuary as it was getting light and the tide was at its lowest. I hoped this would be the ideal time to hunt some more unusual visitors…

I saw the usual gulls and terns, and plenty of ducks who were racing down the channels and darting at each other, playing. No little egrets. I saw ahead the silhouette of two large birds stood still in the water. They were Egyptian geese, which I have never seen before- they were beautiful. This was when I realised my error. In the half light, with a howling wind and a telephoto lens… I’d not brought a tripod.

I spent the next hour trying to brace the camera against benches and rocks and steady myself against the wind. Sunrise never really happened, it went from dark grey to a bit lighter grey and just got colder. It was starting to rain. I hung on a bit longer… come on little egret!

The patience paid off. The egret landed and I got my shot. Still a little blurry but I love how you can see his yellow foot through the water. Here’s some of the other wind-blown shots I got along the way…

little egret kingsbridge estuary

kingsbridge  kingsbridge estuary

tern tracks

kingsbridge estuary

egyptian geese

egyptian geese kingsbridge

little egret kingsbridge estuary

little egret kingsbridge estuary

little egret kingsbridge estuary

little egret kingsbridge estuary

egret tail

little egret kingsbridge estuary

little egret kingsbridge estuary

One thought on “Early Morning Bird Hunt

Leave a Reply

