An Incredible Day of Clouds- Part 3

August 29th 2013

I’d already got plenty of shots of some beautiful and strange clouds in the morning and afternoon, so I thought I’d hang on for a couple of hours and catch the sunset. I’m glad that I did. All shots are straight out of camera unless otherwise stated (a couple I’ve increased the contrast, but not altered the hue/saturation etc.) to just show off the clouds as they were. It was only looking back through the pictures a few months later that I realised just how amazing the sky was- enjoy! (I warn you- it’s a long post…) You can click any image to enlarge.

IMG_8100

sunset clouds 

IMG_8103

contrails

I was watching the contrails still spreading into clouds…

IMG_8105

IMG_8106

This is the first shot I got of a trail that would spread into a giant pillar of cloud. I am kicking myself that I didn’t see it appear, I must have thought was just another contrail, as my attention turned to the wispy pastel cirrus hanging lower in the sky like paintings.

IMG_8107

IMG_8108

IMG_8146

IMG_8150

IMG_8155

IMG_8113

The trail starts abruptly, seeming to come out of nowhere.

IMG_8114

IMG_8123

It quickly spread into a billowing tower of cloud. (I’ve increased the contrast in the image above.) Looking back through the photos I was wondering if it might be a meteorite or something? Surely it would have been noticed by everyone if a meteorite had flown over Kingsbridge?! If anyone knows what this is or has any ideas please let me know as I am stumped!

IMG_8124

IMG_8126

^ Have played around in photoshop with this one. I was watching the fluorescent red glow on the horizon. It looked on fire.

IMG_8127

IMG_8130

IMG_8134

IMG_8137

I’ve seriously upped the contrast here to show off the shape of the rolls of cloud…

IMG_8138

IMG_8142

The tower gradually started to disperse. Nearer the horizon, shapes were forming that I’ve never seen before. Can anyone tell me what this is?!

IMG_8152

IMG_8156

IMG_8157

IMG_8161

IMG_8169

IMG_8173

IMG_8174

IMG_8175

IMG_8180

IMG_8181

IMG_8194

IMG_8195

IMG_8196

All that was left of the pillar of cloud now was a few wisps of pink, glowing bright orange near the horizon.

IMG_8201

IMG_8200

A zoom-in on the horizon; the base of the trail. What a sunset.

IMG_8204

3 thoughts on “An Incredible Day of Clouds- Part 3

    • Thanks Steve, always good to know there’s other people interested in what the sky is doing- I just wish that I understood more about what’s going on up there!

Leave a Reply

