Contrail Clouds

On the 15th July 2013 it was a sunny morning so I took my breakfast coffee up to the garden, where I saw a huge cross in the sky formed by two contrails. I thought this was quite cool so grabbed my camera.

IMG_6859

IMG_6873

and then there was another…

contrails

…and within seconds, another. In the other direction I noticed even more criss-crosses of contrails. Instead of dissipating, the contrails remained heavy and quickly spread.

IMG_6868-(2)

IMG_6889

IMG_6890

IMG_6869

IMG_6874-(2) IMG_6882-(2)

By the time I left for work, the whole sky was covered in a layer of these contrail clouds, looking almost ‘greasy’.

IMG_6908

IMG_6927

IMG_6919

In Salcombe, around an hour later, the sky was also heavy with persisting contrails.

IMG_6942

IMG_6934

IMG_6907

IMG_6935

and they kept on coming, every couple of minutes, eventually forming what looked like a grid overhead.

IMG_6953

For someone who cloudwatches this was incredible, my jaw was on the floor. As I tried to catch someone’s eye to share the astoundment with, I realised that no-one else was looking up, or even seemed to notice! I’d never seen anything like it (I have since), and I’ve watched a lot of planes go by. I don’t have a satisfactory answer to what it was/is, so I’ll just share what I saw and keep watching the clouds.

IMG_6968

IMG_6951

Look up!

One thought on “Contrail Clouds

Leave a Reply

